Skip to product information
1 of 1

Be With Records

Junie - Suzie Super Groupie LP

Regular price
$48.00 AUD
Regular price
Sale price
$48.00 AUD
Tax included.

Walter ‘Junie’ Morrison released his third solo LP, Suzie Super Groupie, in 1976. A slick, smooth and soulful record, it’s a genre-melting tour de force with rich elements of proto-boogie, funk and jazz. In short, this is yet another essential album reissue from Be With.


Junie made his name as the lead singer and keyboardist of the Ohio Players. As the mastermind behind “Pain”, “Pleasure”, “Ecstasy”, and the oft-sampled “Funky Worm”, he was beloved by countless musicians, not least Prince. As co-writer of some of Funkadelic’s seminal works - “One Nation Under A Groove”, “(Not Just) Knee Deep” – his standing as one of the structural fathers of funk is undisputed.

In late 2016, Solange’s “A Seat At The Table” featured a track called “Junie”, a tribute to the freedom he created in music and Madlib also sampled on Kanye West's "No More Parties In LA".

TRACKLIST: Junie III | Suzie Thundertussy | If You Love Him | What Am I Gonna Do | Super Groupie | Surrender | Suzie | Stone Face Joe | Spirit